Church Leadership


Pastor: David Stipp-Bethune
Director of Youth:  John W. Lowery
Director of Christian Education:  Susan Smith


Financial Secretary: Monica Rainey
Office Secretary: Linda Rogers


Nursery Director: Jill Thigpen
Nursery Assistant: Bonita Kidd


Director of Music: Ricky Green
Organist: Michael Odom


Building Superintendent: Keith McCurry
Sexton: Anthony Smith


Elders are active members of the church who serve on the Session (the governing body of the church).  They are persons of faith, dedication, and good judgment, nominated and elected by the congregation. They take part in planning committees, assist in worship, serve communion, and help the church leadership nurture, teach, and encourage the congregation.

At FPC Elders are elected to serve a three-year term and once ordained, they are ordained for life, even if they transfer to another PC(USA) church.

Class of 2017

Esther Byrd – Chair of Personal Committee
Shirley Hurley – Co-chair of Property Committee
Roger Landes – Chair of Youth Committee
Wanda Ragsdale – Chair of Finance Committee

Class of 2018

Pete Carroll
Alice Mahony
Mac Murphy – Chair of Membership Committee
Jon Robbins – Finance Committee

Class of 2019

Sam Allen
Bill Archer
Jimmy Bennett
Barry Jeffery

Youth Elder

Mary Webb


The ministry of a Deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress.  Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this ministry.


Class of 2017

Venie Craig
Kay Mahony
Shauna Mason – Vice-Moderator
Jean Nixon

Class of 2018

Joy Brock – Moderator
Linda Franques
Jill Thigpen
Garland Willis

Class of 2019

Alice Luther – Secretary
Shirley Parr
Sharon Patterson
Julie Trimble


Christian Education –
Austin Barrow, Leslie Carol, John Clark, Susie LaRue, Tracy Lewis, Melissa McFarland, Sharon Patterson, Susan Smith, and Nancy Arn Worrel (Chair)

Finance –
Jeff Dwight, Harry Lewis, John McFarland, Maryann Melton, Wanda Ragsdale (Chair), Monica Rainey, and Ben Robinson

Membership –
Linda Kalcich, John Lowery, Cindy Mabry, Mac Murphy, Sara Stone, Cathe Talpas (Chair)

Mission –
Sam Allen, James Baine, Helen Clyde, Elise Drake, Rosalind Jeffery (Chair), Mike Landers, Susan Landers, Jean Nixon, Wanda Ragsdale, and Julie Trimble

Personnel –
Jimmy Bennett, Esther Byrd (Chair), Pam Callaway, Pete Carroll, Tela Webb, Nancy Arn Worrel

Property –
Mike Dumas (Chair), Elizabeth Eggleston, Parks Hammond, Shirley Hurley (Co-Chair), Barry Jeffery, Keith McCurry, Royce Stone, John Talpas, and James Wylie

Worship –
Jimmy Bennett (Co-chair), Lynn Dwight, Ricky Green, Harry Lewis (Co-chair), Michael Odom, Mac Shepperson, Greg Smith, Jill Watkins, and Beverly Yocum

Youth –
Venie Craig, Tracy Fort, Eric Hatley, Sarah Hatley, Roger Landes (Chair), Shelley Landes, John Lowery, Luke McCurry, and Eli Rahaim